Strange Bedfellows

You must look out for Cupid and
Make sure you’re aware of
What he may do on the 14th
When we’re looking for love

He’s not exactly evil maybe
Just a little twisted
I hear he’s got his arrows and
He’s looking to make mischief

This year he’s on the warpath or
At least that’s what I heard
So beware all you sluts cause you
Might end up with a nerd

And all the goody two shoes might
Wind up with those who sin
I hear he’s pairing meat eaters
With vegetarians!

Republicans with Democrats
And if that doesn’t vex
He’s also putting Star Wars fans
With those who like Star Trek

The young ones with the old ones and
The skinnies with the fats
He’s even getting dog people
With partners that love cats

Leos with Aquarius
And if that’s not a shock
I hear there’s rappers hooking up
With people who like rock!

So look out for the 15th’s awkward
Breakfast conversation
That Cupid can do funny things
And so can desperation

imgres-6

68 thoughts on “Strange Bedfellows

  1. haha! The 15th! If I recall, there’s a film where a woman wakes up in bed with a dead man. The Morning After, I think. Cupid does have a sense of humor.

  2. Hahaha!! You never fail to slay me with your bow and arrow of wit!!

    As long as Cupid doesn’t pair golfers with tennis,
    Can you imagine what a “racket” that’d be?
    Or Brady Bunch kids with Dennis the Menace
    Or mate herbalists with drinkers of black tea!

      • My husband and I always talk about it. We’re so opposites. For example, with chicken he likes the dry, white, choking type of cooking and he doesn’t like the skin. Oh, I love the skin! Especially crunchy ones! Bad for my cholesterol though. So I try to limit eating them.

  3. Such a fun read, Marissa. I have two doomed love pairings. In honor of the “Odd Couple,” disgustingly messy with OCD cleanliness and a social butterfly with a loner. I’m glad those arrows don’t come my way anymore. Ha ha! Happy Valentine’s Day.

  4. I don’t think this is the first year Cupid is trying to stir up trouble with his mismatching and mix-ups. I love the idea of your combinations waking up to find strange bedfellows! Lol
    Happy Valentine’s Day to you and your chocolate loving “fiends!” Make sure you hide some in a “stash” from the kids. . . 🙂

  5. Star Wars and Star Trek fans… together???? NEVER!!! (unless you are me…at which point, the two live very harmoniously inside very separate aspects of my brain).

The Blood Trail Starts Here...