The Joke Is On Me

You told me you’d take care of her
Something apropeaux
For the way she treated me
Those years long ago

You said that there would come a day
She would fall from grace
Show at my door begging for change
And I’d spit in her face

Or maybe have 5 little brats
And sit and stuff her mouth
With pork and beans as she took up
Two sections of the couch

But there was no such suffering
For little old Miss Mean
But there’s a table just for her
At Tavern on the Green

Where I hear that she hangs out
With the Pitt-Jolie’s
She parties in The Hamptons and
Has cocktails in The Keys

Her face is not cobwebbed with lines
As should be her luck
And when it sags and bags she just
Goes for a quick nip tuck

And when I judge her character
Incredulous they answer
“She’s known for work with charities
And fighting aids and cancer!”

Oh Karma you did take me on
A cruel and thankless ride
I knew you were a bitch but I
Thought you were on my side.

imgres-21

67 thoughts on “The Joke Is On Me

  1. I would like to know what had happened to those who were mean to me. But them again the memories have bern repressed deep and can’t remember their names anymore.

  2. I LOVE the music in this one, Marissa. Ms. Mean will have the means to taste what mean is, don’t you fret none. Hehehehe Somewhere, somehow, it shall come yet … somehow when glee should arise, only Compassion is seen. (smile) LOVE this one!!!! (((HUGS))) Amy

  3. I’ve got one of these myself. I’m still waiting. Perhaps we should make a plan! 🙂 Loved your “two seats on the couch” phrase….classic!

      • I have been working on a series of drawings. To some day or not be used here. Where “You Haven’t Met Me Yet”. We talk of the people we haven’t met or would love to meet. We need to turn that around to THEY haven’t met US yet. ANd WE are just as interesting and fabulous. THey just don’t know it yet. That’s what this reminded me of. 🙂

  4. This hit so close to home for me! My “best friend” in HS turned out to be a mean girl. I haven’t spoken to her in almost 20 years but I was watching t.v. last year and there she was…starring on a reality show! I scrutinized her face for signs of age but dammit, she’s even prettier now. Whomp,whomp :).

  5. Pingback: Possessive? Protective! | April's Perspective

The Blood Trail Starts Here...