Where Have All The Flowers Gone?

Where have all the flowers gone?”
My neighbor she did query,
But to ask such a question,
Perhaps she should be leery.

So used to always seeing those,
Fresh flowers in my house,
And never even knowing,
What they were all about.

For each time my husband wronged me,imgres
A new bouquet was given,
Which never served to improve my mood,
Or acknowledge all was forgiven.

And no matter their state of beauty,
I received them with a glower,
To think that he could buy me back,
With a simple bouquet of flowers.

And as time went on,
In a marriage that was faltering,
Never did he improve upon,
This very paltry offering.

A sad attempt to hide a state,
Of cheating, stealing and lying,
All represented in a bouquet,
Of flowers that lay dying.

Till one day at his pathetic gift,
I flew into a murderous rage,
And if you want to know where all the flowers have gone,
They’re lying on his grave.



 

57 thoughts on “Where Have All The Flowers Gone?

  1. Snazzy! I don’t know why I was thinking it, but I was. I’m all about tit for tat, so I’m not complaining here.

      • Funny enough, my husband’s blog actually took off a bit. He was writing blurbs about metal bands and a friend of mine from Brooklyn who has an online fanzine asked him if he’d like to be a contributor, so he’s writing for her now. However, because of that, he can’t really do his blog any more other than posting links to the articles he’s written for that site. Small price to pay for increasing readership by about 20,000. The site is called Geeks of Doom, BTW. Relevance? That I don’t think it would be appropriate to blog a poetic response there!

  2. That escalated quickly! I liked the rhymes but (if i may give some perhaps insignificant advice because this is what yeahwrite is for right?) I’d try keeping the same amount of syllables (or almost) for every second line, it might make it a little easier to read 🙂
    Feel free to criticise what I wrote if you have any ideas for improvement.

    • Definitely appreciate the criticism. Meter is probably my biggest challenge as it is at times, difficult to maintain the ‘story’ whole also maintaining meter. I will check out yours soon, thanks.

      • It all looks easy but the hardest is when you have a certain number of syllables for each line and in the end everything has to make sense! I don’t know if you’ve ever tried Shadorma (it’s a form of poem, I only learned about it recently), the first time I tried was hell and I had three syllable lines all over the place! The second time was a little bit better, I suppose it comes with practise 🙂
        Good luck with the poetry, hopefully it’ll get easier.

  3. This was so good, Marissa!
    Actually, it reminded me of a dear friend who always posts pictures of her bouquets and then tells me later why she received them in the first place. A bit bittersweet all the way around and you captured it perfectly.
    Michelle

  4. This was great! I knew a lady whose husband did something like this (fur coats, a new car, etc) and the prose made such a serious topic a little more fun.

  5. I don’t know how you manage to keep topping yourself. This may be my fave of all. I am going to put a link on my advice column post where dying flowers were mentioned and share it on facebook. I think you need to be freshly pressed on a daily basis.

  6. Pingback: How Do You Think “Dear Abby” Got Started??? | Once Upon Your Prime. . .

The Blood Trail Starts Here...

