Ouija Board

Oh Ouija board oh Ouija board
Not one to doubt your vision
Well rubbed with cloth the planchette notes
Of other realms or friction

To spell out words like AGNTHM
Or STRIMPH there is no telling
Interpretations seal the deal
And no account for spelling

For I suspect in afterlife
There’s really little mind
For any such* except perhaps
The spiritual kind

We tried to summon Lemmy but
In keeping our mind open
When the planchette spelled out 5 T H
We just went with Beethoven

But while many will doubt I guess
We’ll never truly know
If the gate to hell’s a cardboard toy
Created by Hasbro

*Refers to the double meaning of spelling, as in the grammatical kind, vs. the casting of spells

oujia_6

49 thoughts on “Ouija Board

    • It’s pretty fun. My daughter freaked me out with it the other day by pushing it around until it spelled ‘you died’. I swear, the thing really does move…it just rarely makes sense.

    • Oh really? Maybe you’re on to something. I always take it on face value…even if it’s making no sense. We got it to say dej vu….deja vu without the A? Not sure. The 5th thing really did happen too.

  1. I always thought it was a game, until I was yelled at as a child when my parents found out I had “played” this at a friend’s house. Fear of my parents kept me from ever playing it again. πŸ™‚

  2. I used to play around with the Ouija board, asking them all sorts of interesting questions like was the moon made out of cheese. If so, is it cheddar, mozzarella or Parmesan. Then one night I got a message that scared the bejeesus out of me. It said, “LEAVE ME ALONE OR I AM GOING TO KICK YOUR BUTT.” I’m still sore from that encounter.

  3. I loved the Ouija board and outs was made of particle board with a wooden veneer finish. My girlfriends and I loved asking future questions mostly about love, family and career. Marissa, thanks for the memories!!

  4. Ohhh!!! Too scary for me for sure. Even at my age, I still shut the wardrobe doors before bed ‘just in case’. I mean, you never know, right?!

The Blood Trail Starts Here...

