Locked And Loaded

Don’t ask me why I titled this blog Locked and Loaded…other than that the guy I was writing about has the last name Gunn. That was actually my original title for the article but thankfully, the editor decided to change it at the last minute, sparing me some embarrassment, yet, here I am embarrassing myself just the same. Anyway, some of you may be interested in this one as this guyย not only managed to end up playing with his idol, Marky Ramone of The Ramones, but also ended up publishing a book without even trying. Some people, am I right? Well here is the link.

Also, fun though this column may be, I am running low on people who have an interesting story and are willing to be candid with me, from the hard rock, punk or metal communities. Go figure, right? Anyway, in the unlikely event that you know anyone who fits this bill, send them my way, thanks!

catchmeifwhenifall_msr

75 thoughts on “Locked And Loaded

  1. I don’t really know any one Marissa. Unless you count my experience riding with Steven Tyler in the Toys for Tots run in Ft. Lauderdale. ๐Ÿ™‚ I won’t forget that ever.

  2. Well young Marissa in terms of rocks I have some quite hard flagstones in the garden, and certainly some metal where once was a knee joint…does that count? More seriously, I have already FB liked your link and tweeted it also!

  3. I have a great respect for people who fall and then pull it all back together. It takes a lot of courage and conviction to make that happen.

    Well, if you can’t find any more interviewees, you might have to start making sh*t up. It then gets really interesting, really fast ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Another great spotlight, and always interesting to hear how a book gets developed. It reminds me too why I have to write fiction! I think my memoir would bore people. Unfortunately, I’m not cozy with any musician that fit the bill, but I do know a wedding singer! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Love the pace of the article. You’re really in your element! I’d have liked to read extracts of his book too. I like the title and don’t need to ask cause you’ve already explained.

    Good luck finding more subjects…I took guitar lessons for a few years. Oh, hold on- does that rule me out of ‘punk’? ๐Ÿ˜‚

      • Yes, I kind of like that myself and thank you. The idea is for me to be telling a story and mostly I don’t ask my subjects a lot of questions. I just prompt them along so it’s more flowing. I’m always left with some holes to fill though. Hopefully I’ll get that smoother as I write.

    • Yeah Stephanie, just kind of got tired of the poetry thing, for now anyway. I feel like there’s nothing I haven’t done. This is my 4th article so I guess that would bring me to the one month mark. If we start a punk band together, I can interview you as well!

    • That could be cool for sure. Do you recommend I try to contact them directly through FB or would you be able to put in a word? If not I’ll just try to contact them myself…just let me know. Thanks for the lead!

      • Hey! Yeah, you can try to contact them, and I’ll also ask Derek to try to send word through Jake. Here’s the info that might help you: Jake Wolf is the owner of Capital Club 16 restaurant, where Derek is the Sous Chef. His brother’s name is Tyler. Other than seeing (a lot) of their shows and owning some of their band t-shirts, that’s my connection. So dropping my name without Jake’s won’t help! Good luck!

  6. Sounds like he has had a pretty interesting life. I know musicians get to meet a lot of interesting people. It’s a good thing he kept journals, even it couldn’t have been published, it would still be nice to have it all documented.

The Blood Trail Starts Here...

