Hannah The Curmudgeonly Hippie

Maybe her pilates bands
Were on a bit too tight
Perhaps it was her wind chimes that
Did keep her up all night

She lost a game of hacky sack?
There really is no telling
Maybe the scent of compost heap
Was getting overwhelming

Perhaps it was the harvest moon
Conflicted with the tides
Or maybe she had just found out
Jerry Garcia died

Or maybe her last tie dye session
Got a bit precarious
Perhaps she’s bummed she missed out on
The Age of Aquarius

Or maybe the misfortune to
Have a bad dreadlock day
But something put the nasty right
Into her namaste

Or could it be that peace and love
Just didn’t sound so good
Or that she got nag champa when
She wanted sandalwood

Or the smell of the patchouli which
Despite washings did linger
But I flashed her the peace sign
And she gave me the finger.

imgres

85 thoughts on “Hannah The Curmudgeonly Hippie

  1. This was so hilarious, such a treat! It made me think of all the times I myself had allowed otherwise insignificant matters to make me lose my cool ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Are you spying on me? The wind chimes? The hacky sack tournament? The compost pile? The nag champa mix-up? Gosh, next you’ll be making fun of my Birkenstocks! Love, peace, and hair grease, Marissa! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Fuck yeah, Marissa! This is honestly a topic that Derek and I discuss regularly. I don’t know why we know so many angry hippies,but we just do. I do blame it on the stank of patchouli. One whiff of the stuff makes me physically angry, but you know that already. Soap and deodorant might not be the answer to world peace,but they couldn’t hurt. Some of the most hostile environments on earth are also the stinkiest. Just sayin!

  4. Sounds like she’s someone who was burned way too many times. You know what happens to we idealists. We become cynical in our old age after all the disillusionment.

  5. Marissa, so glad you are writing about hippies! I know them well! This was certainly someone of my “era” or older.
    I loved in those olden days burning incense, wearing musk or patchouli, the patched up maxi skirt or jeans.
    The peace sign is passed on to my kids, as well as my 3 kids say to “chill, mon” or “cool” as if they were from back then.
    Precarious and Age of Aquarius are awesome rhymes and so funny! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜€
    The finger is part of the Peace sign but more likely to get the former rather than the latter!! Hugs! xo

The Blood Trail Starts Here...

