Deviant Delicacies

Sour, sweet Chinese store well
In my refrigerator
Too bad I always seem to be
Hungry an hour later

Italian’s tasty, rich and dense
And sinful as I dare
Skin parmesan I’d say we’re on
Unless I find a hair

Mediterranean is a feast
That rarely goes to waste
Ahad may bob in my kabob
And leave a garlic taste

For Mexican I have a yen
And for it give a holla
No way Jose maybe saute
Him in my enchilada

A kosher dish, a flesh knish
Let’s do it to the hilt
Oh Rabbi Stein you were divine
Well worth the Jewish guilt

And spicesย work, a jerk with jerk
That comes straight from Jamaica
And Japanese I say ‘yes please’
To sushi and a geisha

The meat is lean, bones boil clean
I get what I can take
A cannibal can’t have it all
So why discriminate

imgres-8

88 thoughts on “Deviant Delicacies

    • Oh yes. You know, when we were in high school my sister and I had an assignment to try something new and we went to a Ukrainian restaurant and wrote a song about it for our presentation. I just remember the lines:
      I’m in the mood
      For pig’s feet stewed
      Goodness gracious, Ukrainian food”
      Writing this poem reminded me of that. (This was back in NY of course).

      • By the way, I’m Ukrainian. Love the song from the past. My dad use to make gelatinous pig’s feet. Sounds gross, but tasty if you close your eyes. Ha ha! My favorites were always my mom’s cabbage rolls and perogies. Love your fun take on tasty delights.

      • I’ll take the cabbage rolls and perogies. In fact, I think cabbage rolls must have traveled a bit because they are also in Jewish culture. Honestly, I’m not really much of a food snob so I’ll try those pigs feet too!

  1. Those cannibals, ha ha. Reminds me of a large black bear pic on Facebook where they listed various races and said, “It all tastes like chicken.” When I first read the title, I thought it said, Deviant Devices…that’s a whole other poem, lol.

  2. Oh, heavens! It took me to getting to the Jewish stanza that I GOT what you were saying!!! I’m either a bit slow on the uptake today or you are so good at illusions that you GOT me!!! hehehehehe And even as I write this, I’m not sure which one it is. LOL You are great, my friend!

  3. The line about the rabbi made me cotton on to something not being quite right. Haha brilliant poem – on second read, your sibtle clues were all there. Read it while having breakfast which included Greek yoghurt. Mmm greek yoghurt hahah. Actually- that is a really gross thought.

  4. Omg hahahaha plot twist! It’s kabab* by the way…if you meant that. I have no clue if that’s another dish! Well atleast the animals aren’t being discriminated xD really cool poem! Good job ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. I do have a slight correction with the line: “For Mexican I have a yen”.
    Instead it should be: “For Mexican I have a peso.”
    It’s okay to use: “For Japanese I have a yen.”
    Just wanted to get that off my chest.

  6. Yikes, Marissa! The gruesome black and white photograph was quite an inspiration for this International grim feast of bones and skin! You have quite a deviant and diabolical mind, my dear friend. . . Ooh, hard on my eating first break snack though. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I tried to find the tamest image I could, making it an illustration. There were some actual photographs…well, I’m sure you can imagine. Don’t want to make your appetite worse than it already is!

      • I am so very glad you didn’t use a real live photograph of cannibals!! Yikes! Thank you very much, my friend! ๐Ÿ˜€
        *I didn’t get back to this, I only have a 15 minute break and my gang who sits with me talks through it about shows we watch. We like, “Blindside” and “Elementary,” now tonight I really like the “Bates Motel” show. The mother is a torn and younger version of the character, where Anthony Perkins dresses like his deceased mother. The young man who plays her son drives her crazy but she is also guilty of “babying” him too much, too. We all discuss shows and so, I didn’t get to see your comment.

  7. I am so glad I didn’t wait until Monday to come read you. Clearly, your wicked humor is what will get me through a tedious Friday. I promise to keep the knives away from the co-workers ๐Ÿ˜‰

The Blood Trail Starts Here...

