The Charisma of The Misanthrope

Abandon hope, The Misanthrope
He doesn’t suffer fools
Those vying his attention should
He deem to label cool

Try hard to meet his standards you’ll
Fall woefully beneath
And fixed with eye rolls like leftover
Food stuck in his teeth

The few that have his number know
It’s best to text not phone
And cancel plans, a happy man
He’s better left alone

And though his social circle’s thin
They say it’s all the fashion
The privileged few that brag that they
Like less, hate with more passion

And though I gave up long ago
I do happen to fall
Upon unlikely evidence
He has a Facebook wall

Filled with clever memes each one
Condemns humanity
His friends all laugh, I note he has
So many more than me.

images-4

76 thoughts on “The Charisma of The Misanthrope

    • I don’t know if they are trying to change him. I think it’s more like a club where they all want to outdo each other on who hates who more. One day maybe they will realize they all hate each other anyway.

  1. Maybe the misanthrope really just loathes himself and finds his own traits in others? Re:more friends- fb is probably the ideal place for domronr like that- feeding off negativity and trolls to ‘confirm’ that his views of humanity are right. So …did you send him a friend request? ๐Ÿ˜Š

  2. All too familiar with this guy. Hating everything was cute when we were in our early twenties, but I eventually had to end the friendship. He had become a true snob,and I just didn’t have the energy to dissect every person with him anymore.

  3. Marissa, when I was younger I thought this type of guy was “smart” and some of what he said made sense in its negative, cynical tone. I also think people don’t want to be on the receiving end of his (or her) “barbs” or attacks. I feel sorry for them because you never know if those kind of friends really like you.

    • Yes, I know exactly what you mean. It’s weird that people seem to outgrow these people although they never seem to outgrow themselves. That may have been a better ending to the poem.

      • Your poem is perfect the way it is! I just like supposing and I know that it adds thought to the pot of stew in your mind pondering the next post! I love the way I could picture this guy, I would nod and agree with his sarcastic “wit” but later think it was hurtful. I had a crush on one of the “nerds” who turned out made fun of my lack of brains later on. Oh well! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • No, I really enjoy when people can keep going with my poems and always fun to see how they can be added to. That’s not nice of the nerd boy. Guess he just needed some revenge!

  4. I’m totally not misanthropic, but I don’t even have a Facebook. I like people, mostly, what does this make me? (not a riddler, that’s for sure) Great poem btw! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. You know I love your poetry. I love reading the comments, too.
    It seems that many (me included) have one or two people like this in their lives. In my case…used to ๐Ÿ™‚ Brilliant

The Blood Trail Starts Here...

