Karaoke King

He rises every day at 6
Carefully laid out clothes
A suit a tie an office life
The man that no one knows

That lurks behind his 9 to 5
That the night time will bring
Dons wig and platforms to become
The Karaoke King

Starts out with I Love Rock N Roll
And in full swing non stop
By 10 the mike is in his mouth
Bustin’ out Iggy Pop

One night while karaokeing
He sees a sight confounding
As in the front row seated now
Is Janet from accounting

He knows not how she arrived there
It would be just his luck
Perhaps she will not recognize
Him in his Kiss a makeup

But he knows the show must go on
No option of him leaving
And shocked when she joins him on stage
To sing Don’t Stop Believin

Then Hey Ya, Rollin In the Deep
Rehab, Fight for Your Rights
And Janet’s back on stage for a
Duet of Summer Nights

It’s rockin well past midnight and
He’s never more alive
He’s not afraid, Not petrified
That’s right he will survive!

Last call he’s bringing the house down
Seguewaying perfectly
Into We Are The Champions from
Bohemian Rhapsody

And with a medal round his chest
He boogies his way home
But slight concern the truth came out
He fears his cover blown

But next day at the office Janet
Looks him in the eye
And discreetly she removes
The glitter from his tie.

images

83 thoughts on “Karaoke King

    • Oh yes, always boogieing in my car. Once a saw a girl boogieing in her car and seriously wanted to do a choreographed dance but I suppose it might have been dangerous.

  1. We are the Champions, I love Rock n Roll, Summer Nights, I will survive……we are definitely of the same generation, Marissa. OMG. Unfortunately, now I’ve got these all on a music loop in my brain!

    Not the first man to be done in by glitter, eh?

  2. Bwaa haaa haaa! Janet doesn’t want to be outed either I guess πŸ™‚ Tiger Mom is a retired K-Pop marvel. She can still blow a karaoke display off the wall with her vocals. I tried it once and the customers left and the place filled up with alley cats. TM makes me sit in the back now and lay low so I don’t ruin her gig.

  3. This post made my day. It just made me happy :). I love your use of the word karaokeing, by the way. There has yet to be enough alcohol in the world to get me on the karaoke stage. Maybe I just need a disguise!

    • I’ve karaoke at parties but that’s the furthest I’ve gone. By the way, it was a big question for me whether or not to hyphenate karaokeing! I’m glad you liked it Kim! Thanks!

  4. I couldn’t wait to scroll past all of the comments to get down here and just say this made me happy and I catch sight of the last comment saying it makes them happy!!! But seriously there was something about thinking of this office guy who gets through his day who looks forward to his nights singing and living this wonderfully secret little life. Just made me happy for some reason. πŸ™‚

  5. Thank you Marissa for enjoying my work on The Challenge,it was for a submission into what I believe is a magazine,I hope it gets published,I had been trying to write this since Wednesday but could get to it till today,let’s all cross our fingers
    As always Sheldon

  6. πŸ™‚ I love that Janet kept his secret πŸ™‚
    (And I hope my Prince is not a karaoke king… But I guess at this point I can accept that too :D)

  7. Another great one, Marissa!!! I LOVE the last line! It wasn’t said but what you wrote alluded to the audience that this man’s fears are no longer valid, for he has been accepted for who he is. NICE!!!! (((HUGS))) Amy ❀

    • Yes, really I wanted to capitalize on the karaoke experience and the ending was really an afterthought but a lot of people caught on to a happy ending and a sense of the man having something other than a 9-5 to make him happy. It’s so nice when people see things in my/someone’s poetry that the writer never intended to put there.

    • Thanks so much. Yes, it was really just meant to capture the karaoke experience but I surrounded it with a plot that was unexpectedly heartwarming for many. I’m glad you liked it!

  8. I love karaoke….listening, I don’t have the nerve or the voice to do it. My daughter is pretty good at it, I have enjoyed watching her. Great poetry (as usual)! If you are interested, I can get you gratis tickets for Hell On Wheels playing at the Whisky -A-Go-Go with the Atomic Punks (Van Halen Tribute band). They are the 10 o’clock band and will be playing July 18. Mr. Hell On Wheels here is always excited to play there πŸ™‚ alas…I am not able to go, but it should be great fun. Just let me know how many you would like.

The Blood Trail Starts Here...

