The Conveniences of Modern Technology

I once knew a blogger
Who lived so far away
When we finally met
We had nothing to say
She set up her computer
And so I set up mine
And then the conversation
Went along just fine

This poem was inspired by an online conversation I had withย Stephanie Mark Lewis AKA Little Miss Menopause, just before I finally had the chance to meet her this past weekend. Fortunately, when we met, no computers were needed. Stephanie is just as fun as her blog is.

11225578_10153295486457603_1387244881_n

81 thoughts on “The Conveniences of Modern Technology

  1. And you both look adorably happy! I’ve met two of my fellow bloggers and, thank heavens, we didn’t need to pull out the computers either. But that moment when the car came up the driveway, I did feel a bit of a twinge. What if we don’t like the real versions of our cyber-selves?

  2. Congratulations. It looks like you two had fun. I met some fellow bloggers once. They served me subpoenas. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I’d like to meet some blogging chums yet what with me living by the side of the motorway in a tea crate begging for scraps of food from pigeons and rarely getting the benefit of washing facilities (save for when it rains) I don’t get around that much…oh and then there’s the issue of my legs…don’t have any!

  4. NO WAY! I cannot imagine the balance of the universe maintained with you and Stephanie in the same biosphere. That would make the most dedicated curmudgeon bust a smile. See. I’m smiling already. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, we started out with ordering regular coffees but when we left mine had somehow become a capi-frappucino with a soy latte twist with some sort of raspberry alcohol in it and she had a truffle hot chocolate!!

      • I can see that! Stephanie was one of the first blogs I followed when I started blogging. I had no idea how to use the like button but she had me pounding that button like a caveman. I ruined two keyboards with coffee reading her blog. My Avatar was Willy Nilly back then. Silly wee Willy Nilly was my pet dragon and alter ego. Then I grew up and Willy ran away from home with the neighbor’s cat. It’s a long story. Stephanie helped ease the pain with good humor.

      • Hi Stephanie! You are still my hero ๐Ÿ™‚ And I put plastic over my keyboard so I can drink coffee and read your blog ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Pingback: When Bloggers’ Worlds Collide! (An Offbeat Meet & Greet) | Once Upon Your Prime

  6. Well! Sorry it took so long for me to come here with my usual boring comments (about how great you are!) but WordPress wasn’t putting the post I wrote about you and our meeting in the Reader and I was very concerned nobody would see it and what a disservice that would be to you (since I so graciously put your blog links in ๐Ÿ˜‰ and wanted to send readers over to discover you. And now I come here and see everyone I know is ALREADY here. Having a party. This was great and so were (are) you. Next time – – we meet up on a night when I have zero responsibilities!

  7. You two look like long time friends – not people who just met!!

    I can just imagine the witty banter that went along with that meeting. How I wish I could have eavesdropped ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. What a wild duo you two make! I love how you could almost be sisters maybe a few years difference but two ‘soul sisters’ or ‘rock n roller sisters!’ This was fun to be along for the visit, vicariously enjoying your meeting and really liking each other in person. I look forward to meeting a few of my fellow bloggers…. some day! Smiles!

  9. I knew Jim McKeever way before we were bloggers so that doesn’t count, I guess, Marissa. I know Christopher Malone, who lives in Syracuse, too, and our first meeting came after blogging. We got along famously right away, I must say. I have plans to meet Karen Tashkovski this summer. Man, there are a lot of Syracuse WordPress BloggyVillers! Nevertheless, hands-down, your photo here with Stephanie is the very best. โค

The Blood Trail Starts Here...

