Cover Band Man

Step down old man, step down, step down,
Cause there’s a fresh face here in town,
He’s cool, he’s hot, he’s now, he’s new,
He does your schtick better than you.

He tours the world he’s got it made,
I hear he’s even getting laid,
By a whole group of hot, young chicks,
Who come while looking at your pics.

They wonder if you’re still alive,
He’s running through your life’s archive,
It doesn’t take long to discover,
That the music this guy covers,
Clearly wins popular vote,
As the best stuff you ever wrote.

And now it is so clear to see,
You’re not the man you used to be,
You can’t compete, you’ll only loose,
A cover band man fills your shoes.

Who will never know the hindrances,
Drama or creative differences,
Or have everyone sing the tune,
Of crap you wrote in your bedroom.

But play the verses to the letter,
Just like you and sometimes better,
And you wish you had only knew,
How fun it could be to be you.

Inspired by on online conversation I had with Mark Bialczak,  http://markbialczak.com/author/markbialczak/

imgres-23

38 thoughts on “Cover Band Man

  1. Awesome work, Marissa. You captured the picture from both sides, really, and doesn’t it look, feel and smell like crap for the artist here in your poem. Thanks for the shout-out and the link, my friend.

  2. I’ve actually learned most ‘new’ music in my life from cover bands. And rock on Mark and Marissa with your conversations! Love it when a post comes out of talking and comments. 🙂

    • Oh yes, absolutely. As said in earlier comments, cover bands are a great way to bring appreciation and bring music to future generations. They are not bad. This just conveyed a point of view on it. I have tons of friends who make their careers playing in cover bands and, hey, why not?

  3. It’s not easy when you get old and the fresh meat steal your seat, I’ve been there myself. God how I hate life and getting old and being pushed aside just for the purposes of competing . Great one my friend. Glad I stopped by to see what you have been up to. Always a pleasure

  4. That is an interesting poem and concept. I had never thought about it, but I suppose there is good business in being a really good cover band. You may not make millions but I bet it’s not a bad living. If only I could do that with books. I’d cover Stephen King books. I guess though that it’s already done in the form of fan fiction.

    • Thanks Phil! Yes, as per the conversation I had with Mark, a lot of cover bands actually tour so I’m guessing they are not doing too badly. Of course, they can’t possibly make the same kind of money on merch.

      As for fan fiction, that’s interesting. Believe it or not, even though I am familiar with many forms of fan fiction, I never really knew of it as a genre. The wheels are spinning…

      • It is a genre and Amazon allows authors to publish their fan fiction (new stories using another authors characters) in a category called Kindle Worlds. Hugh Howey, a big time author I’ve interviewed on my blog loves it. Jim Bernheimer, another author you’ve seen on my blog got his start writing fan fiction. You however are good enough to publish your own book of original poetry.

  5. I think cover bands are underrated. Imagine the pressure being compared with the original? I think they’re fun and passionate about music!
    You got it right on target, Marissa!

  6. I’m thinking now about the ‘originals’… they must feel old and replaced. But at the same time really honored that somebody else chose their work to perform. Very nice poem 🙂

The Blood Trail Starts Here...

