All God’s Creatures

Some people love all God’s creatures large and small,
I say if you’ve seen one rose you’ve seen them all,
But children see things differently so I guess I oughta,
Appreciate the scenery when walking with my daughter.

And lo and behold before us such an amazing sight,
That even I felt my blackened heart becoming light,
A rose stood before us with such a gorgeous hue,
It’s blossoms so delicately white yet almost blue.

And I stood in amazement as if under some strange potion,
That I barely paid attention to what played out in slow motion,
For out towards the flower my daughter’s hand reached for,
And no sooner had all the petals fallen to the floor,
Then we mourned the fact that the flower was no more.

And just when we thought there’d be nothing more to spoil it,
A dog came along and thought those petals would make a great toilet,
We walked through the neighborhood a couple of times since then,
And never saw anything so beautiful again.

imgres-1

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_writing_challenge/blog-your-block/

19 thoughts on “All God’s Creatures

  1. Quite glad to see that you are going back to your roots Marissa as after all “A Tree Grows In Brooklyn.”

    I too am from Brooklyn,er, I mean Brookline, Massachusetts.

  2. “Spoil it and Toilet!” Oh my, but you are good. Reminds me of the time I wrote a poem to my pregnancy and said “here you are forming in the Uterus…. Hope your DNA makes you cuter than us!”

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Blog Your Block, but do not forgt the mice and hedgehogs | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: You can eat broccoli leaves? | Mermaid's tresses

  5. Pingback: Camden Calling | litadoolan

  6. I’m not a big dog lover… for this exact reason!!!!! I love the paradox of the flower petals then the stuff the dog left behind. Another ace poem shoots from your superb cannon!

The Blood Trail Starts Here...

