Smoke And Mirrors

Those who follow my blog might see,
My recent switch to poetry,
This blog will serve as reference,
To justify this preference.

I can write a poem that will pour,
With imagery and metaphor,
And if you’re smart you’ll get the gleaning,
I don’t even know the meaning.

But it’s my hope these works get known,
And make it into sacred tomes,
Where critics will be none the wiser,
As they pull it apart to decipher,

What secrets these words may keep,
Since they are in fact so deep,
Analyzed over and over again,
By the smartest of women, the greatest of men,
Professors and students of English lit,
Who will never know it’s all bullshit.

imgres-3

image credit:  flickr.com

9 thoughts on “Smoke And Mirrors

    • Thanks Sparrow! While I would love to say that my poems defy surrealism, I’ll settle for giving every one a really good laugh. P.S. Had to do some googling to come up with this response!

The Blood Trail Starts Here...

