Take That Fibromyalgia

I know I usually write charming little mom-edy pieces, but lately I have been overwhelmed and how many ‘sisters in pain’ I have found on Word Press aka fibromyalgia sufferers. I thought it might be helpful to share my story.

About 9 years ago, I was diagnosed with an ectopic pregnancy, which was pretty horrible in and of itself. The good news in that is that it was caught early enough and I am now perfectly healthy and have had completely normal pregnancies before and after that pregnancy, but that’s not really the focus of this blog.

The doctor projected that I would recover within a 6-8 week period, and although I began feeling stronger, I was still in immense amounts of pain. What was odd too, was that the pain that was once in my lower abdominal area was now spreading throughout my body, into my joints, legs, knees and even my jaw and seemed more of a ‘nerve pain’. Desperately, I would seek advice from this doctor and that doctor, trying to find out what was wrong with me, but all of my tests came back normal. The only advice that they could give me was to rest, which, as an active young mother, only added to my depression.Waking up every morning and judging the day on the measure of my pain was no way to live.

Finally I couldn’t take it anymore and one morning after waking up in almost unbearable, and ever spreading pain, I took myself to the emergency room. The doctor there diagnosed me with fibromyalgia. And you know how I felt? I was actually kind of happy. Why? Because I was certain that whatever I had was some sort of a degenerative bone disease or something that would surely contribute to my deterioration. When I found out it was none of these, I was actually relieved!

Of course reality soon set in. I still had a painful condition to which there was no cure. But little did I realize I had taken my first step in my battle against fibromyalgia which was defeating depression.

I also realized that I could be active again. I began strengthening my body. I had been limping ever since my operation, but with the renewed strength in my body, the limp went away which also made me feel better about my body image. I swam and worked out, but probably the most helpful of all these activities was pilates. The gentle stretching was just the kind of therapy my body needed, not to mention the almost meditative state my mind would go into when exercising.

Today I am not without fibromyalgia pain, but it is so slight, I describe my state as being ‘in remission’. It is also helpful to know that it is so much better than it’s ever been.

I encourage anyone dealing with fibromyalgia to reach out at any time because there are people who know what you are going through, and there is hope.

http://sickandsickofit.wordpress.com/fibro-what/

http://sickandsickofit.wordpress.com/2013/12/16/im-scared/

http://joannebest.wordpress.com/2014/01/27/another-day-another-blahg/

4 thoughts on “Take That Fibromyalgia

  1. I remember that feeling of relief when I was diagnosed, I know it may sound weird to others but you know exactly what I mean, as you wrote; but for me it was also a relief to know I wasn’t losing my mind… it seemed like everyone around me thought I was a hypochondriac so I began to hide the way I felt as much as I could and made the rounds with the doctors until I finally got that diagnosis, now at least I knew what I was fighting. I did the water therapy, physical therapy, exercise, chiropractic, pain management doctors etc but the pills became too much for me, it was crazy, before I knew it I was up to 80mgs of oxycontin 3 times a day…I decided I couldn’t live like that for the rest of my life, the pills were actually contributing to the pain because my body was constantly going up and down, like if I tried to lower my dosage I’d start detoxing so I’d feel that pain on top of the fibro pain. It took me awhile and a lot of pain to get myself off the meds but I finally did. Of course I still have the fibro pain but as you said, those gentle stretching motions help me with the pain. I will definitely try Pilates thanks to you, I’ll let you know how it works out for me…and thank you so much for writing this, it sucks to have fibro but it somehow helps just knowing I’m not alone. I’m so glad to hear that you’re in remission, it’s got to be really difficult with children to look after, I know how hard it was on me to be a caretaker for my Mother-in-law 24/7 but we do what we have to do whatever the cost to ourselves sometimes. Stay painless! ❤ 🙂

    • Yes, Joanne. One thing I didn’t mention, for the sake of brevity, was I felt like every doctor I went to thought I was insane, and I was beginning to question my own sanity!! Anyway, I’m sorry your journey was such a difficult one what with the pain killers and all, but it sounds like you have found some relief. Thank you for reaching out.

The Blood Trail Starts Here...

