Auld Lang Syne

A week or so ago, I wrote a blog complaining about how few people were reading my blog. Since this drop off began around Thanksgiving, I, of course wondered if this was due to the holiday season, but, since people are now so well connected, media-wise, I really wasn’t sure.

Yesterday, I was reading a blog by Rarasaur which confirmed this suspicion. Not only did she comment on how blogging and readership slowed down during the holiday season, but she went on to say that some bloggers do not blog at all, and I am seriously considering following that path because, well, you don’t just get all this for nothing.

Although I started blogging in June, 2013 will mark the end of my first year as a blogger and as I look back on the year, I feel a bit sentimental (cue piano). When I began blogging, I did so because I felt it would be a therapeutic outlet for myself and if I reached out to one or two people, so much the better. What I didn’t expect was to meet a whole community of bloggers that I would begin to feel a part of. These are people who I wake up to every day and their blogs crowd my inbox with little wisdoms that feel like emails from a friend (but not quite because, you know, I’m just not that crazy yet), and they have become supportive and colorful characters that are a part of my virtual life. Their blogs have touched me, made me laugh and cry, they have taught me and inspired me, and more than anything else, they have given me something to do when I’m bored at work.

My original intention was to mention some of the bloggers who I feel deserve honorable mentions because of their blogs and their support, along with adorable personalized messages, but then I began over thinking the politics of who to mention and who would feel left out, so I decided not to go that route. I am hoping that those people know who they are.

There is however, one blogger I would like to mention; one blogger who has always been there for me, alway inspires me, always likes my blogs no matter how stupid they are and, without whom, I probably wouldn’t blog at all. After all, what is a rock n’ roll super mom without a Hvymtldad?

Rock n’ Roll Supermom – out. Have a great holiday season and I’ll see you in 2014!

7 thoughts on “Auld Lang Syne

    • Well great to hear from you. Although I may not be writing, I am still reading so if you are blogging I am looking forward to it. Your blogs may be a bit above my reading level so forgive me if it takes a bit extra time to get your dark and intricate wit, always worth it!

      • That’s a really lovely thing to say – it’s a just a ploy to discombobulate my readers while I seduce them with my awkwardness 😀

        I’ve decided to concentrate on getting half-decent rest for the minute – I’ve surgery on Christmas Eve of all days, so I’m not sure if I’ll be able to type at all for a few days. I’m certain the new year’ll bring a fresh abundance of nonsense anywise 😀

        Don’t forget to leave Santa a nice sherry – he’s a raging dipso you know and quite possibly the worst binge drinker in the history of history! 😀

The Blood Trail Starts Here...

